Welcome to the internet home of the Coyote Canyon Mammoth Site.

The Coyote Canyon Mammoth Site is the keystone of the MCBONES Research Center Foundation.


Here is the story so far . . .

Mammoths on ridge



During the Pleistocene epoch, Columbian Mammoths
roamed the area around Kennewick, WA.




Cataclysmic Ice Age floods poured water into the
area with many floating things carried along.

Washed up mammoth
Mammoth bone in dirt




Recently, mammoth bones were found near Kennewick, WA.





An opportunity for collaborative work within
several science disciplines presented itself.

Mammoth site dig

There’s much more work to be done . . .

Join us today!

BREAKING NEWS

Coyote Canyon Mammoth Site subject of Northwest Public Television Documentary

Northwest Public Television will air a 3 part documentary about the Coyote Canyon Mammoth Dig Site beginning March 14th, 2015. The series looks at how CCMS began and what has transpired over the past few years in the operation of the site. The documentary explores what techniques are being used at the site and what is being discovered by the corp of citizen scientists working there. The series was shot during the 6 month, 2014 dig season. Tune in to learn more about our favorite local mammoth!

See the Glossary page for information to know while watching the shows!

Episode 1 will air:

On KTNW
Sunday, March 15 at 11:00 AM - Monday, March 16 at 7:30 PM - Friday, March 27 at 10:30 PM

On KWSU
Saturday, March 14 at 8:30 PM - Friday, March 20 at 6:00 PM - Sunday, March 22 at 12:00 PM

Episode 2 will air:

On KTNW
Sunday, March 22 at 11:00 AM - Monday, March 23 at 7:30 p.m.

On KWSU
Friday March 27 at 6:00 PM - Sunday, March 29 at 12:00 PM -

Episode 3 will air:

On KTNW
Sunday, March 29 at 11:00 AM - Monday, March 30 at 7:30 PM

On KWSU
Friday, April 3 at 6:00 PM - Sunday, April 5 at 12:00 PM

KTNW
RICHLAND, WA
• Virtual Channel 31
• RF Channel 38

KWSU-TV
PULLMAN, WA
• Virtual Channel 10
• RF Channel 10

!! NEW - MCBONES Internship Program - NEW !!